– a Norwegian National Research Infrastructure for Geomagnetism, Paleomagnetism and Rock Magnetism

About the National Laboratory

History and Mission

The Ivar Giæver Geomagnetic Laboratory (IGGL) was established in 2012 by the Earth Dynamics Research Group at the Physics of Geological Processes, a former Norwegian Centre of Excellence at the University of Oslo (2003-2013). Initially, the laboratory was named “The Oslo Geomagnetic Laboratory” and included a limited set of instruments for paleomagnetic analyses. In 2013, the laboratory became a part of the Centre for Earth Evolution and Dynamics, which was awarded 8 million NOK by the Research Council of Norway to establish a Norwegian national research infrastructure for geomagnetism that would serve to the entire paleomagnetic and rock magnetic research community in Norway and abroad. These funds allowed us to build one of the most advanced paleomagnetic and rock magnetic laboratories in Europe – the Ivar Giæver Geomagnetic Laboratory.

Our core mission is to provide Norwegian and international researchers with access to state-of-the-art laboratory facilities, technical assistance and scientific expertise for research in a wide variety of topics relevant to studies in paleomagnetism, rock and mineral magnetism and other related interdisciplinary fields. The possible avenues of research that can be conducted using the IGGL facilities include (but are not limited to):

In our vision, the national laboratory should serve not only as a hub for conducting experiments and analyses, but also as a place for exchanging and developing new ideas, building international collaborations, educating students and young scientists, and inspiring them to undertake research in geomagnetism, paleomagnetism, rock and mineral magnetism, paleogeography and geodynamics. To achieve this goal, the IGGL is committed to:

About Ivar Giæver

Ivar Giæver

The national laboratory is named after Ivar Giæver, a Norwegian-American physicist who shared the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1973 with Leo Esaki and Brian Josephson for their experimental discoveries regarding tunneling phenomena in semiconductors and superconductors. The Nobel prize winning work on tunneling in solids was done by Josephson, who predicted the Josephson effect (the phenomenon of supercurrent), while Esaki and Giæver showed tunneling in semiconductors and superconductors, respectively.

Ivar Giæver is a professor emeritus at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI) in New York state, a Vista-professor and a professor-at-large at UiO.

You can learn more about Ivar Giæver here and here.

The IGGL is made possible by funding from the Research Council of

Norway (NFR), the Centre for Earth Evolution and Dynamics (CEED)

and the University of Oslo (UiO)


© 2016 Centre for Earth Evolution and Dynamics